Leaving Your Regrets Behind-1

The Journey of Life

Four Aspects of Mindful Parenting

Parental Compassion

A Spiritual Experience

The Zen Mind

The Antidote to Fear

The Art of Criticism

The Art of Love

The Path of Truth

Leaving Your Regrets Behind

There was a lady once, a social activist, who helped people get off alcohol. It was a small town and every time she heard anyone drinking, she would immediately reach there with a small group of people to talk to the one drinking and advising them on the ill-effects of alcohol. The number of drinkers in that community actually went down for no one wanted to face her.

One day a visitor from a distant town was sitting in the only remaining bar in the town and enjoying his drink. As soon as the activist found out, she rushed to the spot with other people.

“Sir,” she said enthusiastically, “you do know that alcohol is not the solution to your problems.”

“Tell me about it, but hey,” he replied with equal zeal, “it does help me forget my problems for a little while.”

The lady saw the futility of her argument and adopting a different line, she said, “It has terrible effects on your health and can even hasten your demise.”

“I’m not afraid of death. For all I know, I could have an accident and be dead the moment I step out of this place. I may as well live now.”

“Fine,” she sighed. “How long have you been drinking?”

“Every day for the last 20 years. And I’ve no health issues.”

“How much do you spend every time?”

“$10.”

“So that’s $10 x 365 = $3650 every year?”

“Sounds right.”

“And over 20 years, it would be a whopping sum of $3650 x 20 = $73,000.”

“Wow, I never thought like that!” the man said putting his drink down.

“Exactly! And if we factor in the interest earned, you’re looking at $100,000,” she said animatedly. “And, in $100,000, mister, you could have bought a BMW 7-series!”

“Your logic is impeccable, lady! Now, may I ask you a question?”

The woman nodded triumphantly and looked at others in the group who were so impressed with her intelligent reasoning.

“Do you drink?” he asked politely.

“Of course not! I have not touched alcohol in the last 30 years!”

“Far out, eh,” the man exclaimed. “So, what color is your BMW?”

“Excuse me?” she said a little puzzled.

“I mean if you didn’t drink, you must have saved $10 every day and bought a BMW, I suppose.”

The lady stomped her foot and stormed out of the bar.

By no means, I used this joke to endorse the consumption of alcohol in any way. I do have an important point to make though.

Om Namah Shivay

***Write ” Om Namah Shivay ” if you ask for God’s blessing on your life today. Please Like, Tag and Share to bless others!

http://www.vedic-astrology.co.in/

Leave a Reply

