Chhappan Bhog | छप्पन भोग

“Chhappan Bhog” is a Hindi word. Chhappan means fifty-six i.e. 56.

Bhog means food which we offer to God before serving to others.

When food is offered to God, it becomes “Prasad”.

* Food is offered to the deity with chanting of religious prayers. A part of it is put to the lips of the idol as well. This is called “Bhog Lagana”.

* Small portions of the sanctified “Prasad or Prasadam” are offered to all the gathered devotees who take it in their extended palms.

* So Chhappan Bhog means the Prasad consisting of 56 completely different food items. The items can be raw as well as cooked.

* Usually the list begins with rasagullas and ends in elaichi. Many different food items are used. They vary from place to place.

* हिंदुत्व परंपरा में भगवान को छप्पनभोग का प्रसाद चढ़ाते हैं।

Story of “Chhappan Bhog” :-

The story belongs to Lord Krishna.

As per the story, when Krishna saw huge preparations for the annual offerings to god Indra , he debated with the villagers about what their ‘dharma’ truly was. He said that all human beings should merely do their ‘karma’, to the best of their ability and not pray or conduct sacrifices for natural phenomenon. The villagers were convinced by Krishna, and did not proceed with the special puja (prayer). Angered god Indra thus invoked many clouds to appear in the sky and schemed to flood the region with rains lasting for seven days and seven nights. Krishna in reply then lifted Govardhan hill, under which all the animals and people of the region took shelter, safe from the rains of Indra’s fury. Ultimately, Indra accepted defeat, recognized Krishna as supreme. And after praying to Krishna, left for his heavenly abode, the Swarga.

Lord Krishna used to require eight meals on a daily basis. when he lifted Govardhan Parvat for seven days he couldn’t eat. After seven days when it absolutely was over and god Indradev realised his mistake and surrendered. People were and happy and offered Lord Krishna Bhojan for what he had missed throughout the seven days.

As we know :-

7 x 8 = 56

They made fifty-six different things for Lord Krishna and offered Him as a token of their love and gratitude. And it absolutely was known as “Chappan Bhog” (fifty six things).

Thus began the tradition of offering “Chhappan Bhog” to God on a festive occasion. 

Here I am presenting two lists ( One in Hindi and other in English ) of 56 different items for making “Chhappan Bhog” 

छप्पन भोग मे निम्नलिखित भोग आते हैं : –

List No. 1

  1. Moong Dal Halwa
  1. Gajar Halwa
  1. Methi mathri
  1. Namakpare
  1. Murmure ki Namkeen
  1. Rabdi
  1. Aatte ke Laddoo
  1. Besan ke Laddoo
  1. Sooji ka Halwa
  1. Fried Rice
  1. Lemon Rice
  1. Plain Rice
  1. Curd Rice
  1. Sweet Rice
  1. Khichadi
  1. Brinjal Bhajji
  1. Gobhi ke Pakore
  1. Aaloo ke pakore
  1. Boondi ka Raita
  1. Kheere ka Raita
  1. Aaloo Tikki
  1. Bread Sandwich
  1. Chhole
  1. Mix Vegetable Sabzi
  1. Matar Paneer
  1. Daal
  1. Kadhi
  1. Saag

29.Lauki ki sabzi

  1. Papad
  1. Nariyal Chutney
  1. Dhaniya- Pudina Chutney
  1. Salad
  1. Plain parantha
  1. Aaloo Parantha
  1. Spinach poori
  1. Plain poori
  1. Kachori
  1. Chapati
  1. Mango shake
  1. Banana Shake
  1. Coconut water
  1. Badam milk
  1. Salted Lassi
  1. Shikanji
  1. Mango
  1. Banana


  1. Apple
  1. Plum
  1. Kiwi
  1. Almonds
  1. Raisins
  1. Cahewnuts
  1. Pishtachios
  1. Saunf & Elaichi

 List No. 2


  1. रसगुल्ला
  1. चन्द्रकला,
  1. रबड़ी,
  1. शूली,
  1. दधी,
  1. भात,
  1. दाल,
  1. चटनी,
  1. कढ़ी,
  1. सागकढ़ी,
  1. मठरी,
  1. बड़ा,
  1. कोणिका,
  1. पूरी,
  1. खजरा,
  1. अवलेह,
  1. वाटी,
  1. सिखरिणी,
  1. मुरब्बा,
  1. मधुर,
  1. कषाय,
  1. तिक्त,
  1. कटु पदार्थ,
  1. अम्ल {खट्टा पदार्थ},
  1. शक्करपारा,
  1. घेवर,
  1. चिला,
  1. मालपुआ,
  1. जलेबी,
  1. मेसूब,
  1. पापड़,
  1. सीरा,
  1. मोहनथाल,
  1. लौंगपूरी,
  1. खुरमा,
  1. गेहूं दलिया,
  1. पारिखा,
  1. सौंफ़लघा,
  1. लड़्ड़ू,
  1. दुधीरुप,
  1. खीर,
  1. घी,
  1. मक्खन,
  1. मलाई,
  1. शाक,
  1. शहद,
  1. मोहनभोग,
  1. अचार,
  1. सूबत,
  1. मंड़का,
  1. फल,
  1. लस्सी,
  1. मठ्ठा,
  1. पान,
  1. सुपारी,
  1. इलायची

Variations can be made according to one’s choice and capacity.

Om Namah Shivay

***Write ” Om Namah Shivay ” if you ask for God’s blessing on your life today. Please Like, Tag and Share to bless others!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: